CLERK'S OFFICE

APPROVED

Pate: 3-24-98

Submitted by: Assemblymember BEGICH, Abney, Bell,

Carlson, Clementson, Kendall, Meyer, Murdy, Von

Gemmingen, Wohlforth, Wuerch

Prepared by: Assembly Office
For reading: March 24, 1998

ANCHORAGE, ALASKA AR NO. 98-91

A RESOLUTION OF THE ANCHORAGE MUNICIPAL ASSEMBLY RECOGNIZING AND HONORING THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU OF ALASKA

WHEREAS, the Better Business Bureau of Alaska, which celebrates its 15th anniversary this year, is one of nearly 170 independent BBB's in the United States and Canada; and

WHEREAS, since Alaska has no State-funded consumer protection program, the Better Business Bureau of Alaska fills this void through a contract with the State Attorney General's Office to encourage the remediation of consumer fraud and other consumer issues-with no compensation from the State for the BBB services provided; and

WHEREAS, annually, the Better Business Bureau of Alaska responds to over 40,000 inquiries, gives over 15,000 reliability reports on businesses, and processes over 1,200 written complaints against Alaskan businesses - with nearly 90% of the complaints responded to resolved to the satisfaction of the consumer; and

WHEREAS, the Better Business Bureau of Alaska recently paid-off a note that the Board of Director's personally guaranteed - ensuring continued operation of this nonprofit entity.

NOW. THEREFORE, the Anchorage Municipal Assembly resolves:

<u>Section 1:</u> That the Assembly recognizes and honors the Better Business Bureau of Alaska its nearly 2,000 member businesses and many volunteers who are dedicated to building public faith in businesses through voluntary self-regulation, and to assisting businesses and consumers in resolving disputes.

Section 2: That the Assembly specifically thanks the Board of Directors for its leadership and efforts to ensure that the Better Business Bureau of Alaska continues to have a positive impact on Alaskans:

J.W. (Jack) Diamond, Chairman Brandon Allen, Vice-Chairman Dick McIalwain, Treasurer Mark Mitchell, D.C., Secretary

Kathleen A. Roderick Connie Ondola James M. Crawford Teresah Weiland Anna Belle Stevens Peggy Stuart Donald Moma Bank of America, Lender

PASSED AND APPROVED by the Anchorage Assembly this 24th day of March 1998.

Chair

ATTEST:

Municipal Clerk